So Mommy can be in a good mood

Yesterday as I was leaving the gym I heard this conversation between a Mom and her son. 

Why do you have to workout Mom? …..So Mommy can be in a good mood! 

At the time I laughed and smiled at the other mother thinking that’s cute. Well today that statement rang true.

I woke up in a horrible mood. I was sore, had a sinus headache and barely managed 6 hours of sleep. Needless to say my morning started off rough. I had my protein shake, not enough water, too much coffee and was instantly ready to snap at anyone or anything who annoyed me….which is exactly what I did.

I went a little too far at snapping at my 10 year old for tipping over a bucket of blocks to play with her sister. Why this simple act irritated me, I have no idea. Seeing I hurt her feelings, I thought ok Aubrey, you need to check your shit and do a workout to get your mood in the right place. 

After shooing everyone out of the living room and putting the baby down for a nap, I got to it. Today I did Pilates legs, abs and arms with a stretch at the end. Thankfully it worked. My mood is back to a decent level and I’m ready to be normal again. 

It’s crazy to me how a simple workout can turn your mood around for the better but there you have it. Why we revel in our bad moods instead of getting active will always baffle me, especially as I am one of the most guilty people of doing just that. 

So the day was saved and I got done with Day 2 of working out! 

*side note – I decided to not lost everything I eat and do every day. It’s tedious and frankly, I don’t think anyone cares* 

 

Leave a Reply

